Combining Workflows

Hi. Newbie here.
I just built out a workflow and then realized that it contains 3 different manual imports that won’t always be updated at the same time. So, I’m thinking I need a workflow for each import so it can run on it’s own. But on occasion I will need to combine all 3 workflow results and run them together.

Can you pull from different workflows as an import source (without running and exporting), or would I need to export the results of each workflow as a file and then reimport it as a source in a different workflow to combine the 3?

Also, when I run a workflow and export a file to google sheets does it export a new separate file each time, or does it overwrite the last export file, or can you append the new export data to the last export data?

Thanks for the help! So glad I found Parabola!

Hey Zach,

Sounds like you want 3 flows, 1 for each import, and have them sent to a Google Sheet. Then create a 4th flow that pulls in all 3 Google Sheets to then work with them together.

When you send to Google Sheets, it overwrites or appends to the same Sheet in the same File each time, but can be set to create a new file each run if that is desired.

Thanks! So I haven’t gotten to the export part yet…is there a feature to tell it to append the new data to the old file?

Exactly! You set it as an Export Rule on the Send to Google Sheets step.

1 Like

Thanks!
I just realized that I need to compare the new data to the already exported data (master database) to remove duplicates before doing a new export. Is that another workflow?
Or, can I do an initial run to start gathering the “master database” and then edit the workflow to run through that file to find duplicates? This master database will be an export that is appended to each time the workflow is ran, but I would like to eliminate duplicates before doing a new export. If the exported master database file is in the middle of a workflow does it still automatically update?