Receive a notification on Slack for failed transactional emails

Hello to the Parabola community :wave:

TL;DR: send a notification on a dedicated Slack channel on each failed transactional email with only 3 blocks: “Pull from API”, “Filter rows”, “Send to an API”.

I am Agathe, from France, and I work as a project manager at MailerSend, a cloud-based transactional email system built for developers, but designed so your entire team can use it.

You probably know what a transactional email is. Actually, with Christmas approaching, your inbox might be full of them! Look for the emails verifying your accounts, confirming your orders or resetting your password. Those are transactional emails. At MailerSend, we connect your infrastructure and send on-time transactional emails to your customers.

Sometimes, emails can get lost: either the recipient’s email address is incorrect, or the inbox is full, or has been thrown out in the spam section… It can happen, and some of our users wanted to know when that happens and take action so their service level isn’t impacted.

So, in order to know that, we have an analytics dashboard on our app, but not yet the ability to send a notification when an email fails. That’s what I built using Parabola!

The idea is that for each email with a hard_bounced, soft_bounced, spam_complaint, junk, we receive a notification on a dedicated Slack channel.

What we need:

• A MailerSend account, with a verified domain name.
  • A Slack account with a Slack app.
  • A Parabola account.

How to build that flow?
1/ Take a “Pull from an API” block and GET domain activity:
For that, we use the GET request :

• https://api.mailersend.com/v1/activity/{domain_id} The domain_id can be found on the URL of your domain page.
  • Bearer token has to be generated on the Domain page, by clicking “Generate new token”.
  • Select “Data” as the Top Level Key.

You should have all your domain activity, like this:

2/ Take a “Filter rows” block: