The Pull from email attachment step is here!

Hi everyone,

I’m Warren and I’m a software engineer at Parabola. Last week, we released a brand new step: Pull from email attachment.

You can use this step to email CSV/XLS file attachments directly to a dedicated email address for your specific Parabola flow. Once you set up and publish your flow, sending CSV/XLS files to that dedicated email address will automatically trigger your published flow to run. You can check out the detailed docs here.

This has been a highly requested feature from our customers, so I hope you enjoy it.

6 Likes

The Pull from email attachment seems to work great with csv files. However, all xls and xlsx files fail for me. Prefer to use xlsx for this step. Help please.

Hi @Ken_Aldridge,

Thanks for reaching out. I replicated this step with an xlsx file, but wasn’t able to recreate that error.

There are two things that may be happening in your step Pull from email attachment. Within the step, are you:

1. Selecting the same File Type as the one you are emailing? In this case, you’d select File Type option “XLS / XLSX”.

2. If your xlsx file has multiple tabs, in the step’s Sheet section, are you selecting the name of the tab you’re wanting to pull into Parabola? Is the tab name staying constant when you’re emailing the file, or does its name change often?

Hi Adeline,

Sorry for the delayed reply. After much frustration, I’ve resorted to converting all Excel files to .csv prior to sending to Parabola. I verified the file type was correct everytime I tested. Also, my excel files have only one sheet, and I could never make a sheet selection because the file would not import and thus sheets could not be recognized. I’m happy to send you a file iif you’d like to test with one of my files. Not sure what else to do.

Hey Ken! That would be really helpful for us tracking this down. Please send a couple example files that do not work to help@parabola.io and we will look into the issue!