Trying to sort a list of addresses in an optimized pick up order using an external API integration

What I have is a list of addresses sourced from a Squarespace API import.

What I am trying to do is add the latitude and longitude for each address using an external API such as Geocodio, and then take that data with the addresses and their coordinates and integrate it with a route optimization software called Flightmap.

I have the API Keys and API endpoint URLs, but do not know what to fill into the body text to make this work. I have very little knowledge of coding, but have read the introduction to API in parabola’s guide.

Is it possible to integrate these two into the same flow, such that the response from the first is used as an input for the second API export? And where do I find the code to input in the “body text” section?

Hey Jonathan,

Happy to help you out!

I think you are going to want to use an API Enrichment to call the first API to get the coordinates.

Then, you can use those in an API Export to your final API.

The body fields should be defined in the docs for the APIs. Can you post links to their docs here? I can show you from there.

Thank you so much for helping me. These are the links to the API docs:

Geocodio: https://www.geocod.io/docs/?shell#batch-geocoding

Flightmap: https://flightmapapi.docs.apiary.io/#introduction/instructions

Okay so assuming that you will be using the Geocodio API as the first one. Let’s get that working and then we can do the next one.

First, you want your address in a single column. If it is not, then use a Text Merge step to create the address with commas between the appropriate parts. It does not need to be on multiple lines like you would write it out normally.

Use an API Enrichment and set its URL to this:

https://api.geocod.io/v1.5/geocode?q={Address Column}&api_key=YOUR_API_KEY